Debbie Rondem Award for Outstanding Leadership

Debbie Rondem, retired Director of Student Support Services in Forsyth County and 2010-2011 SSTAGE President, was the first recipient of a new award recognizing outstanding leadership qualities. Debbie personified the ideals of SSTAGE Leadership by her dedicated service on the SSTAGE Board and service to students in her role as Student Services Director and School Counselor.  She was an original member and vital part of the seminal Metro SST Consortium in 2000 and actively supported the creation of the SSTAGE association in 2007.  She was also part of the SST Audit and Design team and volunteered her district to participate in that innovative process.  Debbie has served as SSTAGE Director-at-Large from 2008-09, SSTAGE President Elect 2009-2010, and SSTAGE President 2010-2011. Debbie has also served on the Georgia DOE RTI Task Force, helping to bring powerful, research-based change to the education of all students and especially, at-risk students.  Those who have worked with Debbie have witnessed her dedication, leadership, organization, integrity, and grace in all that she endeavors.   In addition to serving students, families and educators, she has honorably served her country as a Colonel in the United States Army.  Debbie has helped countless individuals via many organizations, received numerous awards, and has been a true advocate for positive change in education.

If you are interested in nominating a colleague, please download and the application below. Completed applications should be sent to Wallace Blackstock at by August 1, 2017.

*Download the 2017 Nomination Form here!

2016 Recipient – Patrick Kennedy

2015 Recipient – Dr. Craig Lockhart, Newton County Schools

2014 Recipient – Donna Collins, Stephens County Schools

2013 Recipient – Dr. Lisa Hinely, Oglethorpe County Schools

2012 Recipient – Cathy McKenzie, Cherokee County Schools

2011 Recipient – Debbie Rondem, Forsyth County Schools